portfolio web templates

SECI - About Us

Why do the elephants of Sumatra need our support?





Elephants have lived in Sumatra for thousands of years. Well adapted to the island life, they have got along well with all other creates within their habitat in the past, such as tigers, orangutans, rhinos, as well as people who also lived in small groups in the rainforest. In the last few decades, however, there has been a dramatic change in land use on Sumatra. Large areas of forest have been cut down or burned to make space for plantations, mines and new settlements.

It is not too late yet, but there is no time to lose, its really: now or never!

Over time, elephants were increasingly displaced from their original home, captured, relocated, or killed. In addition to the loss of their habitat, many elephants were also hunted for their ivory, which has further decimated the already small populations.

Today there are only a few remaining “population pockets” left in mostly remote and isolated areas. And even these are acutely threatened by further habitat loss and poaching. If these extraordinary and fascinating animals are to be preserved, quick and targeted action must be taken.


We at SECI dream of a secure future for the Sumatran elephant, of a future in which the coexistence of humans and elephants on Sumatra becomes a reality.
A Sumatran bull elephant shows his tusks

But our dream only has a chance if it is supported by local people. That is where our SMALL GRANTS program comes in, which aims at helping prospective Indonesian elephant conservationists with their training and during the start of their careers. For this we have entered into a partnership with the Wildlife Conservation Center of Gadjah Mada University. 

A collage with an elephant eye, elephant skin and elephant trunk


In addition, we raise funds that are then made available to selected on-site elephant protection projects via our EMERGENCY FUND, primarily intended as emergency aid for unforeseen and particularly difficult situations. Thanks to the active project work of our president Dr. Alexander Moßbrucker for International Elephant Project and SECI, we are in direct contact with almost all organizations that support Sumatra's elephants.
 

A Sumatran elephant named Dadang stands in a clearing
Dr. Alexander Markus Moßbrucker, president of Sumatran Elephant Conservation Initiative e.V. the initiative for the protection and preservation of the Sumatra elephant

SECI, the Sumatran Elephant Conservation Initiative, was founded in 2010 as a non-profit association with the aim of promoting the protection and conservation of the Sumatra elephant. Since the beginning, the driving force has been SECI's president Dr. Alexander Markus Moßbrucker. Like all SECI members, he works 100% on a voluntary basis for our association.
Alex has gained plenty of field experience while working for many years as the leader of various conservation projects in Sumatra, which almost always involved elephants. After a good 10 year collaboration with the Frankfurt Zoological Society, Alex is currently working as a project manager for the International Elephant Project.

© Copyright 2020 SECI - All Rights Reserved

build a site

SECI - Über Uns

Warum brauchen die Elefanten Sumatras unsere Unterstützung?





Elefanten leben schon seit Jahrtausenden auf Sumatra. Gut an das Inselleben angepasst haben sie sich in der Vergangenheit gut mit allen anderen Mitbewohnern wie Tigern, Orangutans, Nashörnern, und auch den ebenfalls im Regenwald in kleinen Gruppen lebenden Menschen arrangiert. In den letzen paar Jahrzehnten fand jedoch ein dramatischer Wandel in der Landnutzung auf Sumatra statt, Waldgebiete wurden großflächig abgeholzt oder verbrannt um Platz für Plantagen, Minen, und neue Siedlungen zu schaffen.

Noch ist es nicht zu spät, aber es ist keine Zeit zu verlieren, es gilt: Jetzt oder nie!  

Elefanten wurden zunehmend verdrängt, eingefangen, umgesiedelt, oder getötet. Zusätlich zum Verlust ihres Lebensraums wurden viele Elefanten auch wegen ihres Elfenbeins gejagt, was die bereits kleinen Vorkommen weiter dezimiert hat.

Heute gibt es nur noch einige wenige Restvorkommen in meist abgelegenen und isolierten Gebieten. Und selbst diese sind von weiterem Habitatverlust und Wilderei akut bedroht. Wenn diese so außergewöhnlichen und faszinierenden Tiere erhalten werden sollen, muss schnell und gezielt gehandelt werden. 

Wir von SECI träumen von einer sicheren Zukunft für den Sumatra-Elefanten, von einer Zukunft in der eine Koexistenz von Menschen und Elefanten auf Sumatra Wirklichkeit wird. 
Ein Sumatra Elefantenbulle zeigt seine Stoßzähne

Unser Traum hat aber nur dann eine Chance wenn er von den Menschen vor Ort mitgetragen wird. Deshalb engagieren wir uns mit unserem SMALL GRANTS Programm zunehmend dafür angehenden Indonesische Elefantenschützer bei ihrer Ausbildung und dem Berufsstart zu helfen. Dafür sind wir eine Partnerschaft mit dem Wildlife Conservation Centre der Gadjah Mada Universität eingegangen. 

Eine Kollage mit Elefantenauge, Elefantenhaut und Elefantenrüssel



Zusätzlich sammeln wir Spenden die in unserem EMERGENCY FUND ausgewählten Elefantenschutzprojekten vor Ort zur Verfügung gestellt werden, vornehmlich gedacht als Soforthilfe für Unvorhergesehenes und besonders schwierigen Situationen. Durch die aktive Projektarbeit unseres Vorstandes Dr. Alexander Moßbrucker für International Elephant Project und SECI stehen wir mit fast allen Organisationen die sich für die Elefanten Sumatras einsetzen in direktem Kontakt. 
 

Ein Sumatra Elefant namens Dadang steht auf einer Lichtung
Dr. Alexander Markus Moßbrucker, Vorstand von Sumatran Elephant Conservation Initiative e.V. der Initiative zum Schutz und Erhalt des Sumatraelefanten

SECI (Sumatran Elephant Conservation Initiative e.V. oder auf Deutsch die Initiative zum Schutz und Erhalt des Sumatra-Elefanten), wurde 2010 als allgemeinnütziger Verein gegründet, mit dem Ziel den Schutz und Erhalt des Sumatra-Elefanten zu fördern. Treibende Kraft ist von Beginn an SECI´s Vorstand Dr. Alexander Markus Moßbrucker. Wie alle SECI Mitglieder arbeitet er zu 100% ehrenamtlich für unseren Verein.
Alex ist seit vielen Jahren als Leiter verschiedener Naturschutzprojekte auf Sumatra tätig, bei denen es fast immer auch um Elefanten geht. Nach einer gut 10jährigen Zusammenarbeit mit der Zoologischen Gesellschaft Frankfurt arbeitet Alex derzeit als Projektleiter für International Elephant Project, einer in Australien registrierten non-profit-organisation.   

© Copyright 2020 SECI - All Rights Reserved