web maker

Wildlife Conservation Centre


Sumatran elephants are critically endangered. Effective protection projects are necessary to preserve the few remaining populations and their habitat.

There is no doubt about that, but who is putting these projects into practice?

The people who work in the projects in Sumatra, often under difficult conditions, are as important as the project work itself.

The Wildlife Conservation Center at Gadjah Mada University trains these people and prepares them as best as possible for future challenges. Indonesian students learn all the fundamental basics here and receive a solid foundation on which they can build their careers in nature conservation and species protection.

Two adult Sumatran elephant cows stand in bushland

"If people are the problem, people can also be the solution "

Most nature conservation problems are man-made. It is people who cut down the rainforest, create oil palm plantations, and operate mines. And it is people who drive the elephants out of their habitat, poison them, injure them with snares, or kill them because of their ivory. 

Many problems have complex backgrounds, and it takes a lot of time and energy to solve them. Not an easy task for sure. What is certain, however, is that nothing will change if nothing is done. It is also certain that action requires people to implement the urgently needed conservation projects.

The Wildlife Conservation Center is a small but fine "forge" that produces such people. Embedded in the Department for Wildlife Research and Wildlife Management of the Forest Faculty at Gadjah Mada University in Yogyakarta, it is the number one institute for many to get the right skillset for species protection and nature conservation.

Three Indonesian students learn about nature and species protection in the Wildlife Conservation Centre
A group of Indonesian students on a course at the Wildlife Conservation Centre

Students can attend courses and seminars here, receive advice and active support in developing their own ideas and projects, and find a retreat where they can discuss and learn with like-minded people.


The Wildlife Conservation Centre is more than just a place or a program; it presents an idea. A dream of a future in which Indonesia’s people will live in harmony with nature and its globally important ecosystems. The motto borne by the students is: All Good Things Are Wild And Free!

The Wildlife Conservation Centre logo shows a tree with a tiger, elephant and orangutan

For the Wildlife Conservation Centre to function effectively and remain attractive to the students, it needs financial support. With your donation you will help to enable prospective nature conservationists in Indonesia to receive a sound education.

It is these people who will secure a future for Indonesia's environment and thus a future for our beloved Sumatran elephants !

© Copyright 2020 SECI - All Rights Reserved

how to create a website

Wildlife Conservation Centre


Sumatra-Elefanten sind akut vom Aussterben bedroht. Effektive Schutzprojekte sind unbedingt notwendig um die wenigen noch verbleibenden Populationen mitsamt ihrem Lebensraum zu erhalten, daran besteht kein Zweifel.

Doch wer setzt diese Projekte in die Tat um?

So wichtig wie die Projektarbeit selbst sind die Menschen die in den Projekten auf Sumatra - oft unter schwierigen Bedingungen - arbeiten.

Das Wildlife Conservation Centre der Gadjah Mada Universität bildet diese Menschen aus und bereitet sie bestmöglich auf zukünftige Herausforderungen vor. Indonesische Studenten lernen hier alle wichtigen Grundlagen und erhalten ein solides Fundament auf dem sie ihre Karriere im Natur- und Artenschutz aufbauen können. 

Zwei adulte Sumatra Elefanten Kühe stehen im Buschland

"Wenn Menschen das Problem sind, können Menschen auch die Lösung sein"

Die allermeisten Probleme im Natur- und Artenschutz sind menschengemacht. Es sind Menschen die den Regenwald abholzen, Ölpalmplantagen anlegen, Minen betreiben. Es sind Menschen die die Elefanten aus ihrem Lebensraum vertreiben, vergiften, mit Schlingfallen verletzen, oder wegen ihres Elfenbeins töten. 

Viele Probleme haben einen komplexen Hintergrund und es benötigt viel Zeit und Energie um sie zu lösen. Keine leichte Aufgabe. Sicher ist aber, das sich nichts ändern wird wenn wir nichts unternehmen, und sicher ist auch dass es dazu Menschen braucht welche die dringend benötigten Natur- und Artenschutzprojekte in die Tat umsetzen. 

Das Wildlife Conservation Centre ist eine kleine aber feine "Schmiede" die solche Menschen hervorbringt. Eingebettet in die Abteilung für Wildtierforschung und Wildtiermanagement der Forstfakultät an der Gadjah Mada Universität in Yogyakarta, ist es für viele die beste Adresse um das passende Rüstzeug für den Artenschutz zu erhalten. 

Drei indonesische Studentinnen lernen im Wildlife Conservation Centre über Natur und Artenschutz
Eine Gruppe indonesicher Studenten bei einem Kurs im Wildlife Conservation Centre

Studenten können hier Kurse und Seminare besuchen, erhalten Rat und tatkräftige Unterstützung bei der Entwicklung eigener Ideen und Projekte, und finden einen Rückzugsort in dem sie mit gleichgesinnten diskutieren und lernen können. 

Das Wildlife Conservation Centre ist aber mehr als nur ein Ort oder Programm. Es ist eine Idee, ein Traum von einer Zukunft in der Indonesiens Bevölkerung in Harmonie mit der außergewöhnlichen schönen Natur und den global wichtigen Ökosystemen leben wird. Getragen von den Studenten lautet das Motto: All Good Things Are Wild And Free !

Das Logo des Wildlife Conservation Centre zeigt einen Baum mit Tiger, Elefant und Orangutan

Um effektiv funktionieren zu können und attraktiv für die Studenten zu bleiben benötigt das Wildlife Conservation Centre finanzielle Unterstützung. Mit ihrer Spende tragen Sie dazu bei angehenden Natur- und Artenschützern in Indonesien eine fundierte Ausbildung zu ermöglichen.

Es sind diese Menschen die eine Zukunft für Indonesiens Natur und damit eine Zukunft für unsere geliebten Sumatra-Elefanten sichern können!

© Copyright 2020 SECI - All Rights Reserved